The first round of Handicap Matchplay Championships commenced with 16 entries this year and each hole was a close contest in all matches.  Match winners in this round were Annette Davidson 1up, Ivy Radcliffe 1up, Lorraine Mettam 1up, Leanne Wright 2up, Bev King 4up, Cathie Stevenson 4up and Marie Kernot won by default.  In other competitions, Gross winner was Ivy Radcliffe, with runners-up Fiona Pickett and Bev King. Nett winners on 30 points Leanne Wright, Jan Parry, Marie Kernot and runner-up on 31 points was Bev King.  Stableford prizewinners 1st= Jan Parry, Leanne Wright, Marie Kernot, 2nd= Bev King and Sue Rea, 3rd= Lorraine Mettam and Ivy Radcliffe with Joanne Stutt winning a discounted round of golf.  Winner of the Robert Harris voucher for Longest Putt was Jan Parry.